Frequently Asked Questions
1. Who needs to take the course?
The 1995 Washington legislature passed a law requiring Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST) for managers,
servers, bartenders and other employees who serve alcohol or supervise the sale of alcohol for on-premise
consumption at liquor-licensed establishments.
You are required to get the appropriate MAST permit within 60 days of hire. However, if you are an employee of a
grocery store with a wine and beer tasting endorsement and will be conducting the tastings, you must obtain a Class
12 permit immediately. For more information on server training, go to http://liq.wa.gov/publications/MAST_Brochure.pdf.
2. What is the difference between a Class 12 and Class 13
Class 12 is a mixologist permit for managers, bartenders and anyone else who mixes drinks with alcohol or draws
from a tap, and is 21 years old. Anyone with a Class 12 permit is also authorized to perform duties included in the
Class 13 permit. Every establishment where alcohol is consumed on the premises must have at least one Class 12
permit holder on duty.
Class 13 is a server permit for servers and ID checkers who are at least 18 years old and carry alcohol to
customers or open beer and wine and pour it into a glass at the customer’s table. Class 13 permit holders cannot
mix drinks or draw beer or wine from a tap.
3. How long does the class take?
All classes, whether online or in a classroom setting, must be at least 3 hours. You may take the course in one
sitting or login and logout as you choose to finish the course. The American Safety Council system will save your progress when
you logout. Once you start the final exam, you must finish it in one sitting. There is no time limit to finish
the course. You may take as long as needed.
4. What is a passing score?
At the end of each module, there will be a quiz that you have to score 80% to continue on with the course. You can
take the quizzes as many times as you like. At the end of the course there is a final exam.
As you are going through the course, feel free to go back and review any of the information that
has already been covered. However, once you begin the exam, you will NOT be able to go back and review any of the
material. You have one attempt to complete the exam and must correctly answer 80% of the questions to receive your
5. When and how will I receive my permit/certificate?
Upon successful completion of this course, American Safety Council will report your course completion to the Washington State
Liquor and Cannabis Board. Your permit will be mailed to you at the address you entered when you registered for the
course. If you do not receive your permit within 30 days, contact American Safety Council at 1-800-972-5654. If you still
do not receive it, contact the WSLCB MAST Coordinator at 360-664-1727.
6. How long is the permit good for?
MAST Permits are valid for 5 years. To renew your permit, you must take the class again BEFORE your permit expires.
You can check to see if your MAST Permit is still valid by visiting the WSLCB MAST Permit Checker website at
http://liq.wa.gov/licensing/mast-permit-checker and entering either your full name and
date of birth or your permit number.
7. What if I lose my MAST Permit?
If you lose your valid MAST Permit, you must complete an Affidavit of Lost or Replacement
Mixologist/Server Permit and mail it with a $5.00 check made out to WSLCB. Remit to: WSLCB MAST Coordinator, P.O.
Box 43098, Olympia, WA 98504-3098. You may also contact your course provider to obtain a replacement permit. Click
on the following link to print a copy of the form: http://liq.wa.gov/publications/AffidavitofLostPermit.pdf
8. Will my computer work with this course?
The American Safety Council course is entirely on their servers. It is viewed and taken entirely
in your browser. Most any modern computer with a current version of Internet Explorer, Firefox, Google Chrome
or Safari will play the course just fine.
9. What if I need help?
Call American Safety Council customer support 24/7 toll-free at 1-800-972-5654.